Embroidery the Royal School of Needlework way

Last summer a friend and I went on an embroidery course run by the Royal School of Needlework in Hampton Court on the outskirts of London. It was an excellent day where I learned some stitches i didn’t know already and how to start and finish and generally embroider the Royal School of Needlework way! Don’t get me wrong…I will never be as good as the graduates of the School who often go on to work on royal wedding dresses and other such things but it was certainly interesting to get an insight into how they worked.
On the day I started a piece of embroidery that I got to take away to finish…and earlier this year I finished it…ok I know it should not have taken quite that long but i have a lot of things going on at the same time.

Here is the finished product…
photo (3)

Now I have to figure out the best way to mount and display it in my house πŸ™‚

next project based on these new skills is to design my own piece of embroidery. I am thinking

IMG_1914

IMG_1910
embroidered versions of patterns like this…this will take some thinking about..

About Ice_Badger

Exercisaholic, Photographer, Artist, Engineer, Morris Dancer, General Obsessive... View all posts by Ice_Badger

10 responses to “Embroidery the Royal School of Needlework way

Leave a Reply

